There are four main roles in Zoom:
- Alternative Host
Hosts of the meeting are the original creator of the meeting. They have ultimate control of the meeting and can manage many aspects of the meeting.
- Create the meeting
- Starts and Stops the Meeting
- Creates/Manages Polls
- Can Chat Privately with all Participants
- Admits Participants from the Waiting Room
- Can send participants to the Waiting Room
- Can remove participants from the meeting
- Starts/Stops Breakout Rooms
- Can float between various Breakout Rooms
- Can Mute Audio and Video of Participants
- Can Set Alternative Hosts
- Can set Co-Hosts or Hosts
Alternative hosts are designated individuals that can start a meeting without the original host being present. Until/Unless the original host joins the meeting, they have all the same capabilities of the Host.
Once the host joins the meeting, the Alternative Host continues the rest of the meeting as a Participant, unless the Host has designated them a Co-Host.
The Co-Host role is an assistive role to the Host. They have similar, but not identical, roles to the Host. Co-Hosts are designated within the meeting through the “Participants” panel.
Key actions that the co-host CANNOT do are:
- Create the meeting (by definition, only hosts can create a meeting)
- Create/Manage Polls
- Set Alternative Hosts
- Set Co-Hosts or Hosts
- Start or Stop the Meeting
- Start/Manage Breakout Rooms
- Float between Breakout Rooms
- Admit participants from the Waiting Room
- Chat Privately with Participants
- Mute the Audio or Video of any Participant
- Send any Participant to the Waiting Room
- Remove any Participant from the Meeting
Participants have control over their own individual participation in the meeting.
- Join the meeting with login info provided by the Host
- Can mute and unmute themselves
- Can respond to Polls
- Can join a Breakout Room assigned by the Host
- Can Leave the meeting at any time
- Can Chat privately with Hosts & Co-Hosts, and post to the general group Chat (if enabled by the Host)
- Is admitted to the meeting from the Waiting Room (if enabled)
- Can be given permission to Host or Co-Host